Rogers roars to victory lane

Tom Rogers Jr. of Patchogue continued his recent hot streak at Riverhead Raceway when he won the 35-lap NASCAR modified feature on Saturday. Rogers roared from his 10th starting position to score his 10th career triumph.

In victory lane Rogers was asked what the secret was to his recent hot streak. “Nothing at all, really,” he said. “This is the same setup we had when I won the championship in 2004. I have to give credit to my crew, though. They keep after it and it shows in our performance.”

Eddie Brunnhoelzl III of Levittown finished second. The early race leader, Timmy Solomito of Islip, placed third. Following him, in order, were Dave Brigati of Calverton and Howie Brode of East Islip.

In other races:

The defending late model champion, Kevin Metzger of Massapequa, led all 50 laps of a double-point contest. By earning his 12th career late model title, Metzger padded his points lead in the process. Artie Pedersen of Center Moriches made a great run for the runner-up place, warding off Peter Eriksen of Baldwin, who ended up third.

Arne Pedersen of Mastic Beach topped the field in a 15-lap figure eight feature event for his first career win. Roger Maynor of Bay Shore, the all-time leading race winner at Riverhead Raceway, had to settle for second place. Ralph Tasso of Bohemia overcame an early-race tangle for third.

Chris Turbush of Riverhead drove to his 21st career charger victory, his second of the year, in a 20-lap affair. Brian Doyle of Ronkonkoma drove to a second-place finish while Erin Dumicich of East Quogue crossed the line third.

Mike Albasini of Flushing went wire to wire in a non-stop 20-lap super pro truck feature event for his first win of 2010. It was the sixth career super pro truck win for Albasini, the defending champion in the division. Shaun Gouldsbury of Commack was second and third went to Roger Turbush of Riverhead.

The 4-C supers ran their first official race ever at Riverhead Raceway, with Mike Wrenn of Medford leading all the way in a non-stop, 15-lap contest. Donald Lawrence of Hampton Bays came in second and Ron Merlino of Franklinville, N.J., was third.

Despite spinning out twice, Shawn Wanat of Riverhead won a 60-lap four-/six-cylinder truck enduro. Both times Wanat kept his foot in the throttle to recover and stay in contention for the lead, which he took for good on Lap 52. Rob McCormick of Calverton was second, with Jimmy Badalato of Lindenhurst third.

NASCAR OFFICIAL SERIOUSLY INJURED Riverhead Raceway’s co-chief steward, Mike Cappiello, was seriously injured Saturday night prior to the NASCAR modified feature event when he was struck in the infield between the first and second turn by one of the cars prior to their 35-lap main event.

Cappiello of Glen Cove shares the chief steward position with Jim Maggio for the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series events at the track. He was stationed on the dirt portion of the first turn area. Steven Booker’s car either had a carburetor issue or a stuck throttle, which snapped his car into the infield, striking Cappiello, according to a statement released by Riverhead Raceway.

Cappiello, who never lost consciousness, was taken to Peconic Bay Medical Center in Riverhead and later was transferred to Stony Brook Medical Center. His lower left leg suffered a compound fracture. Surgery was performed on that leg early Sunday morning. Cappiello also suffered a broken right leg, dislocated shoulder and a broken rib. Doctors are looking to perform a second surgery this week to address some muscle damage in the left leg.