Cahill leaves school board; bid to appoint Krauza fails

Debra Cahill

Mattituck-Cutchogue school board vice president Debra Cahill resigned from the board on July 1, citing family and job obligations.
Two board members, Douglas Cooper and Jeff Smith, tried to fill the vacancy at the board’s July 15 meeting by naming former board member Lynne Krauza, who lost her bid for re-election in May by 75 votes. Their motion to appoint her failed in a 4-2 vote.
In a letter to the board dated July 1, Ms. Cahill cited unforeseen increases in family and job responsibilities as her reasons for resigning. At the July 15 session, the board accepted the resignation and rejected the motion to appoint Ms. Krauza.
Superintendent James McKenna said Friday that the board would spend the next month canvassing the community for a possible replacement and will discuss a list of potential appointees