Fire district elections will be held Tuesday

Five North Fork fire districts and one park district will be electing commissioners on Tuesday. In all but two cases, both in Cutchogue, candidates are running unopposed:

The major fire district race occurs in Cutchogue, where longtime commission secretary Matthew Martin, 70, will face James Fogarty Jr., 47, son of the retiring commission chairman. Both seek the seat held by the senior Mr. Fogarty, whose five-year term in ending.
“I want to keep the family tradition,” Mr. Fogarty said. A 20-year department member and a former chief, he was also an EMT for 12 years, six of them as a critical care EMT. He works as a collection agent for the Suffolk County Sheriff’s Department.
Mr. Martin, a 50-year CFD member, is a former chief and has served as commission secretary for 20 years. Mr. Martin has a business background and been involved in budgeting and management for Teledyne Corporation.
Both men stress the importance of addressing department needs while holding the line on taxes. At the same time, both say they understand that department members require equipment that enables them to respond to public safety issues.
“We have to look to the future and our needs,” Mr. Martin said, explaining that he is ready to put his business and department experience to work “to benefit everybody.”
“I can make the critical decisions as far as safety and service” are concerned “within the established budget,” Mr. Fogarty said.
Voting takes place at the firehouse between 6 and 9 p.m. on Tuesday.
Also in Cutchogue, The Cutchogue-New Suffolk Park District race pits longtime commission secretary Eric Izzo against Nancy Pester for a three-year term. While Mr. Izzo has been involved with the district for many years, Ms. Pester describes herself as a “novice,” but said she’s ready to listen to all views in deciding what’s best for the park district. Voting takes place at Cutchogue East Elementary School from 6 to 9 p.m. Tuesday.

David Haas, 56, is running unopposed for another five-year term as a commissioner in Mattituck. He has been a department member for 36 years. Voting takes place between 3 and 9 p.m. at the firehouse on Tuesday.

Commission chairman Carlisle Cochran Jr., 55, is seeking a second five-year term as a commissioner. He is a former department chief and has been a firefighter since 1973. He also serves as chief of the Southold Police Department. Voting takes place at the Southold firehouse from 6 to 9 p.m., Tuesday.

Joseph Vandernoth is running unopposed for a three-year term as an East Marion Fire District commissioner. William Bertodatti seeks to complete the term of Robert Wallace, which runs for one more year. Both men are running unopposed.
Voting takes place from 6 to 9 p.m. Tuesday at the firehouse.

In Orient, Andy Ruroede is seeking a five-year term as a commissioner while Bob Scott is seeking to serve the remaining year in the term of Joseph Wysocki. Both men are running unopposed.
Voting takes place at the firehouse between 6 and 9 p.m. Tuesday.

[email protected]