Fogarty, Izzo win Cutchogue elections

Cutchogue taxpayers chose James Fogarty Jr. to serve a five-year term as a fire commissioner and Eric Izzo to serve for three years as a park district commissioner Tuesday.

Mr. Fogarty, 47, beat long-time commission secretary Matt Martin 139-109. Mr. Foggarty will succeed his own father, who chose not to run this year, as commissioner.

Both candidates were former department chiefs. Mr. Fogarty served the department for 20 years and was an EMT for 12, serving six of those years as a critical care EMT.

In the park district, Mr. Izzo beat Nancy Pester, 59 to 26. Mr. Izzo has been park district secretary for several years.
Cutchogue was the only district where park district contests were held Tuesday.

In Mattituck, David Haas ran unopposed for a five-year term as commissioner. He garnered 71 votes.

Southold gave Carlisle “Ty” Cochran J. a second five-year term as commissioner, but the vote tally was unavailable.

East Marion residents gave Joseph Vandernoth a three-year term and elected William Bertodatti to complete the last year of Robert Wallace’s term, who is stepping down this year for undisclosed reasons. Mr. Vandernoth received 17 votes and Mr. Bertodatti, 13 votes.

Orient voters elected Andy Ruroede to a five-year term and Bob Scott Jr. got the nod to serve out the remaining year of Joseph Wysocki’s term. It is not clear why Mr. Wysocki chose to step down before the end of his term. Mr. Ruroede received  21 votes and Mr. Scott, 22 votes.

Residents in the Orient-East Marion Park District Tuesday night chose Linda Goldsmith to serve a full three-year term as a commissioner and elected Jay McKasty to serve a one-year term, taking over for Linton Duel. Mr. Duel and Ms. Goldsmith were appointed by the Town Board in March after former commissioners Stewart Horton and Mary Foster Morgan stepped down. The two resigned following a dispute over whether they had been legally elected and questions about district finances and missing records arose.

Ms. Goldsmith received 35 votes and Ms. McKasty 28 votes, giving Ms. Goldsmith the full three-year term. There were no write-in votes.