ACBL champion Ospreys release roster that includes Standish

Several Atlantic Collegiate Baseball League veterans are on the roster of the defending champion North Fork Ospreys that was released on Tuesday morning.

Among those who will be playing for the 2011 Ospreys are New Haven (Conn.) infielder Ryan Brockett, Sacred Heart (Conn.) utility player/pitcher Rocco Gondek and Southern New Hampshire outfielder Brendan O’Brien.

Also joining the squad is a former Southold High School player, Southern New Hampshire infielder Darrin Standish.

The rest of the players on the 25-man roster are: SUNY/Albany pitcher Kevin Archibold, Minnesota outfielder David Bettenburg, Texas State pitcher Taylor Black, William & Mary (Va.) outfielder Ryan Brown, New York Tech catcher Rob Cafiero, Manhattan infielder Nick Camastro, San Jose State infielder Matt Carroll, Furman (S.C.) pitcher Andy Clifford, New York Tech pitcher John Duggan, Minnesota catcher Matt Halloran, St. Joseph’s (Pa.) outfielder Chris Hueth, Sacred Heart pitcher Kody Kerski, Evansville (Ind.) pitcher James Kohler, Furman pitcher Robert Landers, Rhode Island infielder Joe Landi, Southern Illinois pitcher Brian Monette, Hofstra pitcher Cody Normand, New Haven pitcher Kris Salvaggi, Wagner infielder Ian Vazquez, Texas State pitcher Blake Whitter and William & Mary infielder Ryan Williams.

Shawn Epidendio, who had been the Ospreys’ manager in the club’s first two seasons, will not return for the third. A league spokesman said the position has not been filled yet.

Last year, in their second season, the Ospreys won their first league championship. They went 31-15, posting the most wins in a season in league history.

[email protected]