Greenport: Halloween parade and pumpkin sculpture contest Oct. 30

Members of the Greenport Chapter of the National Honor Society will hit the road Wednesday, Nov. 2, for the Big Apple, where they’ll compete against students from Shoreham-Wading River in “The Challenge.” Competitors are Erin Creedon, Kerri Hands, Mark Pagano and Shawn Peterson with Zoe Vayer as alternate. There’s still some room on the bus for team members’ relatives who might want to attend. Contact Carolyn Burke at the school. Congratulations, kids … and go, Porters!

Greenport Village, Floyd Memorial Library and the Greenport PTA will sponsor a Halloween parade and pumpkin sculpture contest on Sunday, Oct. 30. The parade starts at the school at 2 p.m. and ends at the library, where there will be refreshments, a spooky backdrop for photos and judging of pumpkins submitted for the contest, with prizes. Carve or construct your pumpkin at home and bring them to the library anytime after 1 p.m. on Oct. 30. There’s no charge to enter. Festivities conclude at 5 p.m.

Congratulations to the GHS boys varsity soccer team and coach Chris Golden, who are playoff-bound this year.

Reminder: Tonight, Oct. 27, from 7 to 9 p.m., there will be a presentation for all North Fork parents on teenage drinking and the social host law in Room 312 at Greenport High School.

The GHS Class of 1961 held a 50th reunion at the Townsend Manor Inn on Oct. 8. Those attending were Eleanor Schelin Smith, Barbara Harroun Quinn, Audrey Begley White, Clara Begley Sledjeski, Anita Pfluger Dimon, Becky Rackett Becker, Sarah Postwaite Hill, Barbara Staron Cervone, Annette Harvey Ray, Pat Bonkoski Ewell, Dick Herzog, Henry Ship, Terry Latham, Maury Kaplan, Don Chattaway, Halsey Staples, John Costello, Maryann Ciacia Daugusta, Bob Allen, Nate James, Sharon Sypher Klotzer, Dave Corazzini, Karen Dean Heaney, Bob Corazzini, Carolyn Jaeger Tamin, Harry Mulhall, Connie Toliver Burrows, Terry Bubb Gonzalez and Bob Foster.

The Quill, the GHS newspaper, has won a silver medal from the Columbia Scholastic Press Association. Congratulations to editor-in-chief Alexa Suess, and her predecessor, Sara Maaiki, for their diligence and contribution toward making the paper truly award-winning. Congratulations, also, to the staff writers, editors and photographers, who all had a helping hand in earning this award.

If you see them around the Village this week, be sure to wish a happy birthday to my aunt Vicky Heaney, as well as Bobby Schroeder, Kristen Krumenacher, Angela Paladino Shannon Welch and Christian Cusati (who will turn 9) on Oct. 27. Antoine Hunter and Dylan DePreto celebrate on the 28th; John Williams, Jan Damiani, Tom Welch, and Nicole Ellerson on the 29th; Adele Cassone on the 30th; David Urban on the 31st; Vicky Chute and Taj McKenzie on Nov. 1; and Sally Corwin, “Sooty” Jimenez an Sean McElroy on the 2nd.