North Fork schools have strong showing at DECA competition

Southold High School student
COURTESY PHOTO | Southold DECA treasurer Mackenzie Feeley shows off her first-place award for marketing and math at the DECA regional competition at Suffolk County Community College in Selden.

On Jan. 4, Suffolk County DECA held its annual regional competition at Suffolk County Community College in Selden, where business students from high schools countywide tested their mettle in several business- and marketing-related competitions.

Southold and Mattituck high schools sent large teams — 64 and 87 students, respectively — to participate, while Greenport’s team, now in its second year, sent 25 students.

The Greenport DECA club won six Suffolk County regional trophies and two honorable mentions in a variety of business categories.

The six trophy winners are now eligible for the state competition in Rochester March 6, said adviser Martha Tuthill, who added that she’s not yet sure yet how many students will make the trip.

Mattituck’s team won 39 trophies and three honorable mentions. Approximately 15 students will travel to Rochester, said their adviser, Lu Anne Nappe.

Southold received 30 trophies and six honorable mentions. Club adviser Kathy Williams said 20 of those trophy winners will be in Rochester for the state competition.

Southold’s team included six first-place winners: Mackenzie Feeley for marketing math; Christian Fouchet for public service visual advertising; Frank Cone for extemporaneous public speaking; Evan Miller for broadcast advertising; Sean O’Donnell for wholesale selling; and Sydney Campbell for public service broadcast advertising.

Southold’s second-place winners were Anne Davey for automotive services marketing; Griffin Quist for extemporaneous public speaking; Preston Jolliver for prepared public speaking; and Halle Murphy for decision making in marketing. Third-place Southold winners include Sam Kortchmar for business finance and David O’Day for decision making in human resources.

Lauren Ficurilli, Winston Wilcenski, Nicole Busso, Melissa Rogers, Tim Stankewitz, Evan Van Duzer, Grace O’Donnell, Drew Sacher, Will Tondo, Jackie Ruggles, Chris Boletierri, Sam Koslosky, and the teams of Abby Scharadin/Jessica Rizzo, Meagan Glenn/Elizabeth Anderson and Michaela Christman/Erica Bufkins also brought home trophies for Southold.

Robert Anderson, Kieran Brodarick, Peter Dicandia, Steven Best/Kyle Clausen, Will Fujita/ Hannah Matthaei and Justina Babcock/Logan Pfister netted honorable mentions.

Mattituck had two first-place trophy winners: the team of Meghan Daly and Clay Davis for financial services and Brette Rosen for prepared public speaking.

Second-place trophies went to Katharine Freudenberg for food marketing and Kaitlyn Doorhy for public service broadcast advertising-television.

Third-place winners for Mattituck included Christian Montgomery for business management and administration; Courtney Murphy for principles of finance; Daniel Baird and Graham Homan for buying and merchandising; Megan Conklin for business services marketing; Erin Pozzolano for extemporaneous public speaking; and Mally Fogarty for marketing math.

Mattituck’s other individual and team trophy winners were Elizabeth Wilcenski/Steve Baird, Elly Bergen, Madison Kent/Cameron Burt, James Finora/Thomas Sledjeski, Savanna Campbell/Maria Peroni, Christine Bieber, Joseph Nadel, Emily Bosworth, Kevin Schwartz, Caitlin Penny, Kiernan Nish, Kyle Freudenberg, Mackenzie Robertson, Andre Vega, Shannon Sheridan-Chiaro, Connor Guditus, Melissa Barry, Emily Fliss, Abigail Terry, Nicole Palladini, Morgan Gildersleeve and Alexandria Makucewicz/Tristan Keil.

Courtney Benediktsson, Doulgas Beebe and Ryan Bergen received honorable mentions.

For Greenport, Nina Papamichael brought home a third-place trophy for decision making and marketing. Greenport’s other trophy-winners were not in the top three, but did place in the top 10: Cole Mezynieski for retail merchandising; Kimberly Bracken for decision making in human resources, Christian Angelson for prepared public speaking, Alexis Wachtel for broadcast advertising and Gavin Dibble for visual advertising.

Honorable mentions went to Megan Murray for principles of marketing and Edward Wright for extemporaneous public speaking.

[email protected]