One vote the difference in Mattituck Park District Commissioner election

The vote to fill a three-year term on the Mattituck Park District Commissioners isn’t over yet.

The unofficial result of Tuesday’s vote gave incumbent Gerald Goehringer 215 votes and challenger Nicholas Deegan 214 votes, according to district clerk Lydia Tortora. 

That’s right, one vote.

Ms. Tortora said Mr. Deegan has asked for a recanvas of the votes, which is now being set up, although no timetable has been established yet.

Mr. Goehringer has been on the board for a total of 33 years, including 30 years consecutively from 1977 to 2007. Mr. Deegan, who challenged Mr. Goehringer and won in 2010, has been on and off the board for about five and a half years since 2008.

The other Mattituck Park District election on Thursday was not quite as close.

Incumbent Shelley Maddoloni, who was the only name on the ballot for a three-year term as district treasurer, received 272 votes, while challenger Carol Manzo, running as a write-in candidate, received 59 votes.

[email protected]