See who’s running in this year’s school board election

The deadline to submit a petition to run for school board on the North Fork passed Monday and local school districts have begun to announce the names of candidates.


The seats of school board trustees Doug Cooper, Laura Jens-Smith and Sarah Hassildine’s seats are up for grabs.

Ms. Hassildine has decided to not seek re-election.

Incumbents Mr. Cooper and Ms. Jens-Smith, along with newcomer Barbara Wheaton of Laurel, will appear unopposed on the May ballot.

Mr. Cooper has served for nearly two decades and Ms. Jens-Smith was elected to the board in 2011.


Greenport school board president Dan Creedon and vice president Babette Cornine are up for re-election.

The two incumbents will run unopposed.

Mr. Creedon was first elected in 2009 and Ms. Cornine in 2012.


Oysterponds school board trustees Linda Goldsmith and Krista de Kerillis are running unopposed for re-election along with first-time candidate Philip Mastrangelo.

The top two vote-getters will serve three-year terms and the candidate with the lowest vote total will fill a one-year term to replace Alison Lyne, who moved out of the district last year.


Southold school board president Paulette Ofrias and trustee John Crean are up for re-election and will run unopposed.

Ms. Ofrias was first elected in 2002 and Dr. Crean in 2009.


New Suffolk school board trustee Brooke Dailey, who’s served since 2012, is not seeking re-election for the only open seat. Ms. Dailey said business commitments, including travel, has made it difficult to serve.

District officials could not immediately confirm if they received petitions from any other candidates.

School board elections and budget votes are schedule for May 19.

[email protected]