Who’s running for school board this year?

Four local school districts have announced the names of candidates for board of education after petition deadlines closed Monday evening and only Mattituck-Cutchogue features a race.


Three candidates are seeking to fill two open seats on the Mattituck-Cutchogue school board.

Incumbent Sarah Hassildine is seeking reelection, while fellow trustee MaryLynn Hoeg has decided to step down. Ms. Hoeg was voted onto the board in May 2016.

The Mattituck-Cutchogue Board of Education appointed Ms. Hassildine in September 2018 to fill a vacancy on the seven-member board. Her re-election would give her a three-year term.

A Cutchogue resident, Ms. Hassildine previously served one three-year term on the board from 2012 to 2015, but did not seek reelection at that time.

She will run against newcomers George Haase and Jennifer Anderson this time around.


Two seats are up for grabs on the Greenport Board of Education this year. Both trustees whose terms are up, Christina Volinski and Heather Wolf, will not seek reelection.

Both women were elected in 2007 and ran unopposed for their past two terms.

Villagers Sandra Martocchia and Kimberly Moore Swann are running unopposed to fill the seats.


Incumbent Joseph Polashock, a New Suffolk native who was appointed to the school board in 2009, will run unopposed in this year’s election.


Board trustee Judi Fouchet’s term is up this year. A member of the board since 2004, Ms. Fouchet will run unopposed.

She previously served as vice president of the five-member board from 2010-2013.


The seats of Dorothy Dean-Thomas, Krista de Kerillis and Thomas Stevenson are open this year.

Ms. de Kerillis will not seek reelection. The other two members will seek three-year terms.

Newcomer Miriam Foster of Orient will run unopposed for a seat on the board.

School board elections and budget votes are scheduled for Tuesday, May 21.