Rogers rolls again into victory lane

The magical carpet ride continues for Tom Rogers Jr. The Patchogue driver won his second consecutive NASCAR modified feature event in a 35-lap event Saturday night at Riverhead Raceway. Rogers moved up from a 14th starting position to pick up his 11th career NASCAR Whelen All-American Series triumph.

Chuck Steuer of Bohemia was the second to cross the stripe. The early race leader, Eddie Brunnhoelzl III of Levittown, placed third. He was immediately followed by the division’s points leader, John Fortin of Holtsville, and then Chris Young of Calverton.

Another driver on a two-race win streak, Arne Pedersen of Mastic Beach, took the top honors in the Cromarty Cup 20 for the figure eight class. It was his second career win. His brother, Scott Pedersen of Shirley, was second. Ralph Tasso of Bohemia drove in third.

An historic moment took place in a nonstop 20-lap charger race. Daryn Miller of Franklin Square, who is deaf, became the first hearing-impaired driver to win a NASCAR-sanctioned race. After Miller exited his car in victory lane, the crowd, instead of cheering for Miller, showed its approval by waving hats, programs and whatever else they could.