Auto Racing: Mastro records first career victory

Steve Mastro of Port Jefferson earned his first career victory in the 60-lap Grand Enduro as Riverhead Raceway wrapped up another season Saturday night.

The runner-up to Mastro, David Antos of Lindenhurst, won the 2011 Grand Enduro title for the season. Robin Vollmoeller of Riverhead won both the race and season championship in the 4-/6-Cylinder Truck Enduro.

Antos broke in front on Lap 5 and opened up a big lead. Mastro worked his way into second place on Lap 19, passing Don Carasiti. He slowly inched closer to Antos over the next 35 laps and finally surged in font with just five laps remaining.

Defending champion James Charrier of Shirley finished in third place.

For Vollmoeller, the victory was his second of the season. Vollmoeller opened the race behind Johnny Cricchio, who was looking for his first career victory. But Vollmoeller, one of the all-time leading winners of Charger races at the quarter-mile, moved into second on Lap 27 and battled Cricchio throughout the second half of the race for the lead. On Lap 53 Vollmoeller went in front and never relinquished the lead.

Cricchio, who’s from Ridge, finished second and Greg Harris of Riverhead was third.

Dege Russell of Rocky Point continued his late season hot streak in the first 8-Cylinder Enduro, which was 75 laps. He won his second race of the month. Dominic Ranieri of East Northport finished second, which propelled him to his first career championship. Donald Lawrence of Hamptons finished third.

In the 50-lap nightcap for the 8-Cylinder Anthony Pizzo of Lake Ronkonkoma earned his second win of the night just minutes after winning the 4-Cylinder race. Ranieri was second and Russell third in the 8-Cylinder. In the 4-Cylinder it was Dennis Nelson of Coram taking second and clinching the 2011 championship. In the closing laps of the race Nelson lost a front axle on his car, but he persevered to finish the race, which was luckily 60 laps and not 75.

Gene Brubol saw his winning streak snapped in the 50-lap 6-Cylinder Enduro, but he still won the championship with his fifth-place finish. Veteran Bob Haeger of Hampton Bays won his first race of the season. Mitchell Pattern of Southold was the runner-up and Richard Galante of East Patchogue was third.