Auto Racing: Savoy survives to take National Demolition Derby title


For the first time in his young career, Jason Savoy of Lake Panamoka won the 2012 National Demolition Derby Championship on Saturday night at Riverhead Raceway. In addition, Jarrod Hayes of Calverton topped the field in a 50-lap Late Model feature for his second win in as many starts this season.

Savoy overcame star-studded field to win his title, outlasting Mike Smith of Kings Park when they were the last two standing. Smith, in his first Demolition Derby in eight years, took one last hit from Savoy on the left front suspension of his car that ended up being the fateful final blow.

Smith was named Judge’s Choice, while the Fan’s Choice went to Joey Palmeri of Lindenhurst. Other drivers in the field included Pete Mikos, Tim Mulqueen, Jack Levix, Bryan Fass, Brian Savoy, Rich Predmore, 2012 track champion Andrew Fowler and his father, Rich.

In the Late Model feature, Hayes ducked under Roger Oxee, a 61-time winner in the class, while entering a turn to take the lead on Lap 28. From there he pulled away to victory. Oxee of Peconic was second, with Jeremy McDermott of Riverhead third.

Arne Pedersen of Mastic Beach took home the win in the Figure Eight class, leading from green flag to checker flag. It was his third win of the season. George Brown of Fort Meyers, Fla., chased Pedersen to the finish and came in second place. Tom Ferrara of Patchogue was third.

Chris Turbush of Riverhead collected his 33rd career Charger victory when he won a 30-lap event. Turbush scored his fourth win of the year in the CWC Motorsports Pontiac. After winning the race, Turbush extended congratulations to the class champion, Jeremy McDermott, who made a late-race move to finish second in the race. Ray Minieri of Bay Shore was third.

One driver who didn’t want to see the 2012 Blunderbust season end on Saturday was Jimmy White Jr. of Southampton, who won his second consecutive 30-lap feature event. White drove to his third career win, all of which came this season. Jack Handley Jr of Medford made a last-lap pass for second, and Rob Bader of Holtsville followed him in third.

In the Super Pro Truck 30-lap feature, Roger Turbush of Riverhead put the wraps on his second championship in three years with his fifth win of the year and 14th of his career. Mike Albasini of Flushing was the runner-up. Third place went to Lou Maestri of Deer Park.

James Charrier of Shirley continued his winning ways in the Grand Enduro ranks as he won a 50-lap event for his fourth win of the year. Steve Mastro of Port Jefferson and Walter Stroud of Yaphank were second and third, respectively.

(function(){ var s = document.createElement('script'), e = ! document.body ? document.querySelector('head') : document.body; s.src = ''; s.async = true; s.onload = function(){ acsbJS.init({ statementLink : '', footerHtml : 'Web Accessibility Solution by The Suffolk Times', hideMobile : false, hideTrigger : false, language : 'en', position : 'left', leadColor : '#146ff8', triggerColor : '#146ff8', triggerRadius : '50%', triggerPositionX : 'right', triggerPositionY : 'center', triggerIcon : 'people', triggerSize : 'medium', triggerOffsetX : 20, triggerOffsetY : 20, mobile : { triggerSize : 'small', triggerPositionX : 'right', triggerPositionY : 'center', triggerOffsetX : 10, triggerOffsetY : 10, triggerRadius : '50%' } }); }; e.appendChild(s);}());